July 25, 2002

possibilities

Today might just be amazing..

My mom called this morning to say that she has a potential buyer for a piece of land she put up for sale a week or so ago. If his loan gets approved I won�t have a car payment anymore. I�m more than a little excited about this prospect. My mom won�t have a car payment either, or a loan payment for my education. She�ll also pay a lot less in car insurance since without a car payment to worry about I�ll be able to pay for my own insurance. Who knows, maybe she�ll even give me a little extra money to get my credit card bill under control? Life might just be looking up.

With that call in mind, I was thinking about the future on my way to work this morning. Without a car payment I could start saving money, and if I get a second job, moving to another state at the end of the year/ beginning of next year is actually plausible.

Seattle? San Francisco? Los Angeles? New York? Boston? Chicago? New Orleans? Maybe someplace in Canada?

And in the midst of daydreams about more stunning locations with culture and cafes and clothing stores worth shopping at.. little apartments over quaint stores that are somewhat rundown but old-fashioned and loved I came to a realization.. I would actually miss this place if I moved. It took me completely by surprise.. I�ve always hated the desert. Disliked the extreme heat, the lack of interesting places to go, the fact that the scene is terrible.. but I�d miss it.. miss it all. What a strange revelation.

9:26 a.m.

previous | next