February 02, 2003

A poster boy with depth..

Weekends in Tucson are insane. Especially on 4th avenue where you can find about twelve bars/clubs on a four block stretch which happens to be rather close to the University of Arizona. And every single one seems to be standing room only. And there are live bands everywhere you go.. some obscure and unknown, some with a loyal local following whose excitement at seeing them live never seems to lessen.

Drunk college kids walk the streets in packs, socializing, barhopping, yelling and dancing like mad.. Police vehicles seem to be parked on every corner, but they never really interfere with the craziness going on around them. Instead the officers lean against their cars with mild, tolerant little smiles on their lips as they talk to taxi drivers who hang around for hours waiting for the 1 a.m. influx of clientele.

And although I know that this is pretty commonplace in college towns on this side of the country, it really does feel like something out of a movie. Especially when you take into account the fact that everyone is friendly and sweet, and girls who would have made fun of you in high school will walk over and compliment your plaid boots and anime-ish miniskirt. It all seems strange when you generally avoid the college hang outs.

But last night I agreed to meet a boy down there. A boy from Ohio who really could be the all-American poster boy from way back. He�s a pre-med student whose putting himself through school as a social worker. A boy who graduated from high school two years early and seems to know more about politics than I ever will.. and amazingly enough, he�s not the least bit stuck on himself. Really, he�s the type of boy every mother dreams of her little girl finding. Right down to the blond hair, blue eyes and nice clothing. Without a single tattoo or piercing to be found.

Exactly the type of guy I would normally not give the time of day to. But for some reason, I genuinely like him. Because we met on Thursday and ended up hanging out until 3 a.m. Because we hung out last night until four in the morning. Because we�re hanging out again tonight. Because he laid down on his bed, closed his eyes while swearing that he wasn�t tired, that I shouldn�t leave just yet and asked me to tell him all about the Nuremberg Trials [be still my heart, a boy who enjoys listening to me ramble on and on about Nazi Germany] after he had told me all about the battle of Stalingrad.

And even though he�s made a few comments on my appearance, he really is a total gentleman and hasn�t tried to so much as kiss me. Instead he help my wrist in his hand and commented on how small and delicate it is and told me I have very soft skin when his arm brushed along my leg.. And really, I bet he could make any girl melt.

I really hope we form a lasting friendship, because he truly is wonderful.. and if some little college girl breaks his heart, I�ll be very tempted to break her face.

[Did I mention that he�s only 23 and has been a vegetarian for 11 years?]

2:49 p.m.

previous | next