March 24, 2003

You made this weekend.

Because you�re the only person whose ever looked at/commented on those thin red slashes in a way that didn�t make me want to run away. Because you ran your fingers over them once or twice that night and I didn�t want to cringe.

Because you treat me like an equal rather than a porcelain doll. Because you�ve never fawned over me the way other boys do. Because you call me beautiful when I look my worst and sound sincere.

Because when it comes to things like politics and religion, your views are as unconventional as mine. Because you see nothing wrong with things I say/feel. Because every once in a while you feel comfortable enough to tell me about things from your past.

Because, sometimes, the things you write are lovely enough to make any girl melt. Because you have a big heart underneath it all. Because you don�t scoff at the fact that I do things like talk to injured bugs I try to rescue from holes.

Because when I told you to order coffee, and then unthinkingly said I didn�t mean to act like your mother/girlfriend you had this surprised/thoughtful/smiling look in your eyes that almost scared me.

Because you asked a question in a hesitant voice using words that sounded well thought out and formal even though there was an undeniable current of awkwardness underneath. Asked in just the way I would have in your position.

Because, "I will call you and talk to you later tonight about it." makes me nervous.

p.s. This girl rocks my socks off. Just read it.

2:51 p.m.

previous | next