June 27, 2002

work

As most of you probably already know I�m a receptionist/administrative assistant at a small trucking company. Normally this is wonderful job. I can play on the internet, read, and write in my diary to my little hearts content. They don�t mind my chelsea cut or the fact that I wear all black, or that when I do wear colour it�s almost always plaid. They�re okay with my chunky black platform combat boots and always let me leave early if I need to get my oil changed or stop at the store before school.. very nice indeed. But there�s also a down side.

What is the down side you ask? Men with seem to think they are more important than god. Let me give you an example, someone called a little while ago asking to speak to a salesman about service bodies. I politely informed him that all the salesmen were out in the shop with customers, but that I could patch him through to someone�s voice mail and they would call him back the second they got in. He proceeded to yell at me about how he doesn�t "do voice mail" and how no one ever has the �fucking decency to call him right back." He then went on to tell me not once, but four times that it was my loss. I resisted the urge to tell him that if he wasn�t such a goddamned prick maybe someone would return his fucking phone calls, or that I�m sure not doing business with him is a blessing rather than a loss. I even resisted the urge to become incredibly childish and tell him to kiss my lily white ass.

Aren�t you proud of me? I have self-restraint. mmhmm..

Normally this wouldn�t piss me off so much, but at the time I was listening to Skrewdriver and posting on WSN. We�re in the middle of a couple of big discussions and everyone (including me) is all worked up. Really interesting conversations actually. One on a march that is being planned by blacks in Washington to insist that the American government pay them reparations for slavery, and another one on the decision by the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals in San Francisco stating that the pledge of allegiance is unconstitutional..

12:44 p.m.

previous | next