August 06, 2002

just your average wind up toy

So I�m spending my afternoon stuffing envelopes, opening and time stamping mail, answering the phone and trying to force myself to smile. Sometimes I think that despite the fancy title, administrative assistants are nothing more than wind up toys. You know those monkeys that will walk in a straight line while beating on a drum when you wind them up? Yep, just like that.

Except we�re not as easy to manage, because sometimes it�s really hard to smile when all you want to do is rip someone�s face of. Earlier today I accidentally answered the phone with, "Western Truck Equipment this is {panzer-kitty} speaking, how can I kill you?" as opposed to the usual, "Western Truck Equipment this is {panzer-kitty} speaking, how can I help you?"

Yes, this wind up monkey needs sleep and maybe a cup of coffee or three.

1:51 p.m.

previous | next