December 24, 2002

Playing catch up - Part II

� & Today �

For as long as I can remember, my family has been full of very stanch republicans. The men go into the military where their life views are formed and the women believe what their men do. The men sit in the den watching CNN and talking about politics while the women gather in the kitchen to cook and talk of children, friends, and the past..

But I�ve never liked the kitchen, or the company of most females [especially the ones I�m related to]. I find so many of them dull, lifeless and whiny.

Days like today are what set me apart from my cousins and aunts. Instead of catching up with my aunts and mother in the stores, or my grandmother in the kitchen, when I got off work I headed for the den. I sat with my uncles and talked about past wars and future battles. About Trent Lott and affirmative action, Israel and Arafat, Haider and Le Pen.. And you know what? I wouldn�t have it any other way. There�s something almost validating [though, yes I know, sad] about the fact that the more macho men in my family will listen/respect my opinion when they wouldn�t give the same consideration to their wives/girlfriends and I value that.

[Click the back arrow for Part I]

5:20 p.m.

previous | next