May 30, 2002

this is why I hate people

An abandoned cat gets pregnant.

She finds shelter in a dirty, unfinished part of a warehouse.

Has kittens there.

The kittens die. Who knows why, perhaps it was the filth, the extreme heat, or the fact that the mother couldn�t find enough food or water to keep herself nourished much less feed her babies.

One day, the receptionist that works at the company where the cat found shelter hears a faint crying and vows to find the creature it belongs to.

After searching, crawling, coaxing, and ruining a nice blouse, skirt, and pair of panty hose the girl takes the cat home.

The cat is so sweet and affectionate it hurts the girl to think of what the cat�s life must be like.

Although the girl�s own kitties don�t mind the new house guest, the stray cat hisses and spits and gets very worked up every time she seems them.

The girl gives the cat food, water, a nice bed, and a bath... the cat is so filthy the bathtub water turns black and the cat is still not clean.

To make matters worse the cat has a respiratory problem.

The girl calls every animal welfare group in town, but they are all either closed for the night or too overcrowded to take the cat.

Finally the girl finds a friend who is willing to pick the cat up in the morning and take it to a no-kill cat shelter, or if all else fails, the Humane Society.

I can�t stand the thought of giving this kitty who has had such a rough life up. But I don�t know what else to do. I can�t afford to take her to a vet, and I don�t want to risk the health of my three kitties. She must feel so lonely and scared... hopeless and dejected. Just thinking about it brings tears to my eyes. Animals are innocent.

Show me a person with a hard life and I can shrug and move on without giving them a second though, but animals really get to me. Why do I care more about animals than I do about people? Why do I hate people? Because they abandon their pets, and/or abuse them, do cruel experiments on them, hunt them for sport, use them as entertainment, eat them... Not to mention all the shit we do to eachother. Humans are a cancerous parasite. The earth is the body we�ve infested.

10:24 p.m.

previous | next