February 22, 2003

not so ordinary

Thursday night Betty and I went for coffee. And we spent what must have been hours talking about loved ones who died and relationships gone wrong. We took turns telling story after story while the other person listened silently.. And when all the painful, horrible stories were out we talked about silly things like her new Chelsea cut and what type of boys/girls we find the most attractive. It was refreshing and wonderful and I couldn�t even begin to tell you how nice it was to sit down with another girl and just talk. Perhaps it sounds rather commonplace, but since 99.9% of my friends are guys..

As she was getting ready to leave a friend of the poster boy�s showed up and took her empty seat. And even though I had planned on going home as soon as I finished my Chai Latte I let myself get talked into staying. Because it was open mike night and he was reading a new poem he wrote..

But after a while he decided he�d rather drink, so we walked over to a liquor store and bought a bottle of wine and a cork screw.. And we sat in my car with the windows rolled down smoking and drinking wine while a mixed tape he had brought played Sunny Day Real Estate. And we talked and he read me some poems and even though it might sound silly to you, it was actually nice. He�s in the process of writing a novel, but when he�s taking a break from that he write poems. Stark, expressive, visual poems I�m madly in love with..

When we got back to the coffee shop, the poster boy was there. Acting strange, angry, silent and depressed. He kept leaving us to walk up and down the streets by himself, and when we decided to go to Brit Pop night at a local club, he refused to come along, saying he�d come by later.. but he never did..

His friend and I had a good time though. He polished off several bottles of Guinness, while I drank three or four rum and cokes and we requested a million songs and didn�t even care that half the time, we were the only people on the dance floor.

And two friends of mine from my crazy, drug plagued, super pretentious high school days showed up. They gave me big hugs and told me over and over how glad they were that I�m back in town for a while. They�re brother and they live in and old recording studio downtown that has got to be the most wonderful apartment I�ve ever been in. One of them has a stage in his bedroom and the other has two soundproof booths. And there�s acres of empty space and large windows that look right down on the club we were at.

One of the boys, who has liked me since I was sixteen, asked me if I�d go to dinner with him sometime, �You know, like a date. If that�s okay.� It was rather cute. And he told the big skinhead bouncer, who he�s apparently good friends with that I should get put on the club�s guest list. That was even cuter since his reasoning was somewhere along the lines of, �She�s cool. We go way back. She�s one of us, she just moved away for a while.� I�d forgotten how much I like those boys..

All in all it was pretty ordinary.. But somehow I had more fun than usual. I was more happy and free and comfortable and ended up having the best time. Totally worth not getting in until 3 am when I had to work the next morning.

And today�s Scottish Highland Games! I�m leaving to meet the boy I�m going with in an hour. Woo! I heart today!!!

p.s. Tracy, you should consider going. It�s today and tomorrow at MCC.. Look for me if you go today. I�ll be with a big Irish guy..

6:26 a.m.

previous | next