June 04, 2003

Nathan

I went to a restaurant yesterday.

A restaurant that employs a tall pale boy with spiky black hair and a somewhat rude disposition.

A boy who got a strange smile on his face when I walked through the door.

Who kept glancing at me out of the corner of his eye until he finally pointed at me in silent question.

A boy who started grinning like a cheshire cat when I nodded and gave him a mischievous smile.

A boy who all of a sudden shook his head and laughed a little while I stood there remembering the day I first met him..

Remembering a seventeen year old boy who used to work with my friend Nicole. Who heard that a friend of hers showed up every Saturday night in antique black dresses and opera gloves or long skirts and corsets and decided that he had to meet her. Who would watch her whenever she showed up with interest in his eyes but wouldn�t say a word. Who months later befriended her and spent what seemed like hours talking up a storm.

And at the moment the past didn�t feel distant at all.

8:15 p.m.

previous | next