July 19, 2002

Johnny Rebel

Four hours left until the week is over. I�m going to chant that sentence over and over like a mantra and hopefully it will help a little. I need a drink and I have no alcohol. I need to bleed and I have no razor. I need a clove and I don�t get smoke breaks..

This morning a guy around my age came into the shop looking for a toolbox. He drives a big red truck with a big confederate flag in the back window right next to a bumper sticker that read, �Gun Control: Using Both Hands.� He asked me if I�d like to go to dinner with him sometime. Maybe to a steak house or country western dancing? He said that I�m �real pretty.� This made me laugh because I overslept this morning and didn�t take a shower or do my hair or put make-up on. I�m wearing red and black plaid pants, a black little boys dress shirt and combat boots for christs sake.. what in the world made this guy think that I�d enjoy going to a steak house and country music is beyond me.

I actually heard someone being called �a good old boy� today. As in, �Aw George I know you�re a good-old-boy, I wouldn�t dick you over, I swear the truck will be done by Monday. Say, are you plannin� on going whitetail huntin� this weekend?� It made me feel like I was in some low budget movie about the Klan. I don�t quite know whether I should be amused or disturbed.

And why aren�t you people updating today? : (

1:47 p.m.

previous | next