July 18, 2002

�only in your dreams� never felt so true

I�m having the most retched day.. I knew I should have called in sick. I know that it wouldn�t change anything, but at least it would all be postponed for a day. Dealing with work problems always seems easier on a Friday when you can remind yourself over and over again that the weekend will be upon you in a few short hours.

It will be a long weekend too.. that is, if you count jury duty on Monday as part of my weekend. Everyone always grumbles and complains, but the truth is I�m almost looking forward to having jury duty. I�m going to buy batteries for my portable cd player, and hit Half Price Books for new reading material. A day listening to good music and reading a new book or two, what could be better than that besides perhaps a clove and some flavored coffee, but I could cover those as well.

You know what another benefit of calling in sick would be? There�s always the possibility that going back to sleep would have provided me with more dreams of my dragonboy shapeshifter who I think I�m falling in love with. Is it even possible to fall in love with a dream?

One hour before I go home. One hour before I figure out what to do tonight. Will he call? Even wondering makes me feel pathetic.. but it�s also nice in a way because it�s been sooo long since I�ve wondered if someone would call - hoped for someone to call.

Nice-ness not withstanding, I think I�ll go to a thrift store or maybe a record store after work and scavenge for something wonderful. It is possible to find treasures at thrift stores. Once I found the strangest painting of St. Michael standing on a demon at the Good Will. I have it hanging on my bedroom wall. Although today will be more about forgetting that I want a certain someone�s name to pop up on my caller id.

The sad part is that if he does start calling and showing romantic interest (more than a night or two I mean) I will almost undoubtedly lose mine. I swear, when it comes to dating, I�m almost always your stereotypical guy.. and I�m a girl. On the other hand, when I do stay interested, something wonderful almost always comes of it.. for the short time it last that is. Bittersweet is such a lovely word. And true, mustn�t forget that.

One last thing.. what do you all think of the image used in this diary? I'm curious because it made me want to cry..

4:15 p.m.

previous | next