March 08, 2003

Maybe this time, another ten years won�t go by.

The other night I went jogging. Down deserted neighborhood streets. Past houses with lights on and dogs and cats wandering around on little furry missions. Hunting and courting and playing. It was quiet and calm. Relaxing somehow..

At the end of the block I met two boys. Riding horses and telling jokes. Laughing and bonding like only siblings can do. I stopped and talked to them for a while. Stroking the horses and exchanging stories.

And as I was leaving the older of the two asked me if I�d like to go riding with him sometime. Through the desert, exploring new things, watching the world wake up around us.

This morning I got up early. Put on warm clothes and made coffee. Sat outside drinking it and shivering, watching the sunrise for the first time in years. Minutes later he came over. Leading the most beautiful cream colored horse.

And we rode down streets and washes. Past trees and bunnies and birds. Silently enjoying the sensation of cold wind against our cheeks.

And he told stories. Of growing up in the country. Of horses and chickens and camping. Of living in a big family and never having enough time to himself.

On the way back I decided to walk. Taking off my shoes and socks. Feeling the cold sand squish between my toes. He walked with me. Laughing at the strangeness of it all.

�You know, you�d be damn near perfect if you weren�t so weird. But you know what? I had fun hanging out with you anyway.�

9:57 a.m.

previous | next