December 01, 2002

December If Project

If given the chance to fulfill any one childhood dream or aspiration, which would it be? How would the present be different if you had followed your dream in the past?

This is a hard question because I never dreamed of being anything normal when I was a child..

I wanted to be a mermaid and swim through lost cities like Atlantis. Meet creatures no one knows about and live in a palace that was crumbling and covered with plant life.

I wanted to be a witch [although the only witches I�d heard of were in fairytales, I had my own ideas of what witchcraft was and they had nothing to do with books]. I desperately wanted to find someone who was willing to train me when I got old enough and I wanted to spend my life living in a cottage somewhere. Studying plants, spells, the stars.. Talking to animals and participating in rituals.

I came across books like Carmilla and Dracula and decided I wanted to be turned into a vampire at the age of eighteen. Spend my life traveling the world, studying ancient grimoire and communing with others of my kind. Drinking blood and living a life of carefree splendor. Much like a scholarly version of an Anne Rice vampire.. though I hadn�t heard of her at the time.

I wanted to go back in time and spend my life as a virgin priestess in some goddess�s temple. Worship there until my untimely death at the hands of evil, hateful Christians.

But most of all, I wanted to meet a faery. I wanted to be invited into their Faerie Kingdom and live with them forever. Eventually I learned of the Tuatha De Danann and changed my dream to getting to meet then.. if only for an hour.

And in all that time, I never once wanted to be an astronaut, doctor, lawyer or famous scientist. I never wanted to get married, have 2.5 kids, a white picket fence and a dog. When I thought of marriage, it always entailed marrying into the Addams Family, or something of that nature.

And if you asked me today what I�d like to be, I still couldn�t give you an answer. But I know I don�t want to be an astronaut, doctor, lawyer or famous scientist. Owning an occult shop, teaching parapsychology or paganism at a community college, writing books on druidism and dragon lore.. those are the types of things which appeal to me..

I haven�t changed much, you see. And although I'm sure that someday soon I�ll find a career, I know it won�t be what I long for; because everything I long for isn�t really possible.

11:58 p.m.

previous | next