July 17, 2002

coffee shop boy

Last night was one of those nights that are wonderful and cherished not because of any special event or place, but simply due to the person you spend it with and the connection you make.

The evening started out a little awkward with chai at a coffee shop I don�t frequent and small talk with a boy I didn�t know very well. A boy I had a heart to heart with the first time we met. Who after two days knows things many of my friends of two years haven�t been told..

We went for a walk and to dinner and then back to his apartment to hang out.

We spent almost six hours talking. He played his guitar for me.. we flipped through a book.. but mostly we just talked and both got so absorbed in the conversation that we didn�t even remember to put music on for the longest time..

We listened to Dashboard and At The Drive In and The Strokes. I sang along to The Faint and he sang along to obscure punk bands that never made it big despite their obvious talent.

We talked about music and art, history and politics, religion and relationships. I only have one word for it.. amazing.. and if I ever think back on that night it will always be a happy memory. Whether we become close or drift apart..

10:04 a.m.

previous | next