August 12, 2002

childhood games revisited

When I was a little girl my father and I would play the �good/bad� game for hours during long roadtrips. One of us would start out by saying something positive such as, "There was once a man who was walking down the street and came across a twenty dollar bill."

The other one would then reply, "that�s good."

Then the first person would say something like, "No, that�s bad because when he bent over to pick it up he got hit by a bus."

The second one would say, "Oh, that�s bad."

The first would reply, "No, that�s good because although he broke a few bones, he ran into a long lost friend at the hospital."

It would go on and on like that while we thought of new perils and triumphs to visit upon our imaginary man or woman.

I mention this because today feels like one of those games. A steady stream of bad thoughts with good points and vice versa.

Side Note: To all of you who have sent me emails that I haven�t replied to, please believe that it�s nothing personal.. I just haven�t checked my email in a while. I promise to get to it soon.

10:11 a.m.

previous | next