June 14, 2002

blue is both sorrow and tranquility

It�s Friday night in Phoenix. Everyone�s heading out to different parties and clubs, starting the weekend out with a night full of drinking, dancing and smoking too much. My roommate included, he just left for goth night at Incognito. I had planned on making an appearance a little later, but now I�m feeling rather reluctant. I�m sitting at home in a little black slip, writing in my diary and watching Fahrenheit 451 on television and you know what? I�m completely satisfied with my current state of languor. I�d like to encase myself in it and hold it tight like blankets.. a silky cocoon, the perfect size.. but just for tonight.

On the way home from work today I decided I wanted blue hair and made a quick stop at Sally�s Beauty Supplies for bleach and Manic Panic�s After Midnight Blue hair dye. I spent two hours bleaching my hair to a shade somewhere between auburn and blond only to cover it with a blue that turned out to be lighter than I hoped.

Now, my bangs and side fringe are black with blue streaks and the rest of my hair (which is about two inches long and spiky) is blue with black tips. I haven�t decided whether or not I like it. I�m leaning towards not though. It�s most likely for the best seeing as my boss will almost undoubtedly make me dye it back. Blue hair isn�t very professional.. then again, neither is a Chelsea cut, hmm.. Perhaps I�ll buy some blue black hair dye in the morning and just revert back to black with blue highlights. I liked the blond while I had it quite a bit. I�m going to have to try that at some point, but of course first comes maroon. Okay, time for me to decided what to do tonight.

10:51 p.m.

previous | next