July 06, 2002

beach towels were never meant to be used as shrouds

Today started out on such a positive note. How could it not when I woke up in cool freshly washed sheets that slid over my little black slip oh so gently.. comfortable, cozy.. the perfect way to start the day..

I got up and made some coffee, packed an overnight bag and left the house early planning to stop at Atomic Comics on my way out of town. I turned the music up loud and sang along as I started up my car.

My good mood didn�t last.

As I was pulling out of the apartment complex I saw something bright on the median in the middle of the road. I looked closer and saw that it was a bright beach towel with a dog lying on top. He looked like a puppy, all golden brown and soft. I didn�t know whether he was sleeping or hurt so I stopped the car and ran across the street to check on him. His eyes were open and glazed over, his furry was slowly swaying in the wind. He had a collar on. He was somebody�s beloved pet.. and he was dead, lying in the median in the middle of the street with nothing but a hideous multicolor towel to cover him. The name tag had been taken off of his collar. There was a little cross next to him, you know the sort you see along rural country roads marking the spot where someone has died.

I felt outrage that someone would just leave him like that.. I felt sad, hoping he didn�t suffer before he died.. I felt so many emotions.. wondered about his life. Did someone hit him and leave him there? Why was his name tag removed? Who in their right mind would abandon a dead dog like that? Or was he alive when they left him there? Did someone actually just leave him to die there in the middle of the street? What kind of monster would do a thing like that? And why didn�t anyone stop to see.. What the fuck is wrong with people? I guess I�ll never know but what I do know is that I prayed. I prayed that if someone did leave him to die that they suffer. I prayed that they feel what the dog felt times three. Karma, right?

10:48 p.m.

previous | next