October 29, 2002

Baby Blue

For whatever reason Blue didn't have to go to work today.. and for whatever reason he decided to drive down here at three in the morning to spend the day with me.

And we did.

And it was perfect.

Running around barefoot at six in the morning with the smell of wet grass in the air..

Racing to the slide and pushing and tickling and wresting to get there first..

Making a bet on who could swing the highest..

Playing in the sprinklers..

Shivering and laughing and acting like little kids..

Finding an old comforter in the trunk of his car and using it as a picnic blanket..

Drinking orange juice and eating fresh fruit and bagels with strawberry cream cheese..

Getting lost on a desert hike..

Contemplating artistic uses for things we found along the way..

Watching Bullet (my uncles dog) race around, up and down..

And even though nothing spectacular or awe-inspiring happened, I wouldn't trade it for the world.

This week, I feel loved. First Aspen, then Blue, and on Saturday (if nothing goes wrong between now and then) my friend Fritch is driving down to go to the Celtic Festival with me. He's waking up at six and leaving Phoenix at seven a.m. just so we can spend the day together. My friends rock my socks off.

6:36 p.m.

previous | next