December 18, 2002

you know you�re Lost

I saw someone today.

Looked into eyes I haven�t seen in a while.

Was swept into memories I haven�t examined in years.

Of a boy and a girl dancing around and around hand in hand. In the cemetery. In the rain.

Of long walks in a national forest and sunglasses that fell off during cliff climbing excursions.

Off big rocks and breathtaking sunsets.

Of french fries and roses.

Of being dressed up as Scarlet O�Hara in pure white, sitting at a restaurant next to a boy dressed as Rett Butler in a white suit complete with a top hat and cane.

Of a conversation where he asked, �Are you sure you want to?� and I answered, �Yes.� Where he said it had to mean something and I replied, �It would mean everything.� Words that haunt me, forever entrenched in my memory.

Of a haunted look in his eyes and a steamy reunion years later.

Of driving home in tears at midnight and turning the radio on only to hear songs he�d just requested. Sad songs. His pain.

Of, �We just can�t be friends. It�ll never work. Not with our feeling and history. It has to be a relationship or nothing.�

Of being unsure and of him taking that as rejection.

Of nothing and nothing and nothing again.

It�s still nothing. Deep silence. It still hurts. Just not the same.

7:21 p.m.

previous | next