August 08, 2002

coffee shop adventures

There�s a crazy homeless man who spends every night at the Willow House. He goes from table to table handing out torn out bible pages and preaching.. but not about God. He talks about how church bells sound like Beatles�s songs and how Mickey Mouse was the real author of the Declaration of Independence. He talks about how Hitler was inspired and how capitalism doesn�t work. He offers his services as a minister and tries to talk people into letting him marry them. He invites you on missions to find Mrs. Santa Claus and gives you poems only to take them back a few minutes later.

I have a soft spot in my heart for this man who saw me sitting alone in the corner of the coffee shop tonight, just writing in my journal, drinking iced chai and smoking a clove and entertained me until the boys arrived.

Eventually there were ten of us sitting at two tables. Talking, smoking, playing chess.. it was lovely. One of the girls brought her five year old daughter and two of the boys and I played with her. We jumped off ledges and played catch and hide and go seek. We made pennies dance and snuck up on people in many failed attempt at scaring them. We looked for a cricket and ran races.. We made new friends and didn�t leave until an hour and a half after the coffee house closed.

{I need more nights like this.}

2:10 a.m.

previous | next