March 07, 2003

Aaron

I used to think he was the most beautiful boy in the world. Tall and thin with light blond hair and bright blue eyes. I used to sit in class and wonder. Speculate about what he was thinking behind his subtle glances and quiet smiles.

I used to discreetly watch him during cheerleading practice. Hoping that he�d look up during a huddle. Accidentally catch my gaze and grin.

I remember sneaking out one night with thirteen of my closest friends [who were at my house for a slumber party in celebration of my thirteenth birthday] and walking the two blocks to his house.. Only to be scared off by god knows what when we were only three houses away.

I remember giggling while the other girls urged me to call him. And the phone ringing minutes later with his voice on the other end.

The next day he came over. Sat on the porch swing with me for what seemed like hours until he finally worked up the courage to ask me out.

We used to go to piano lessons together in a church down the street. He�d sit through my hour and then I�d sit through his. And we�d walk home slowly, holding hands and talking about random things.

We broke up about a month later. A meaningless childhood romance like so many others. We went to different high schools and never saw eachother again.

Then a year ago he saw my mom in a grocery store. Remembered her even though he hadn�t seen her in years. He told her that he�s living here now. Going to the University of Arizona and working full time. He asked about me and gave her his phone number. Hoping I�d call him the next time I was in town.

And I meant to. I honestly did. Until I forgot all about it. Shoving the slip of paper with his number on it into a book on the shelf..

Today I ran into him at a sub shop. Waiting in line during lunch. And we sat down together and talked. Reminisced until the hour changed and we were both late getting back to work.. And you know, it was nice. Nice to see him. Nice to laugh with him and talk to him. We even exchanged phone numbers.. although I don�t think either of us will ever call. It�s amazing how far we�re grown apart/how different we've become.

5:42 p.m.

previous | next