October 15, 2002

the good old days

When I was thirteen I had a mini love affair with the color purple. It started with a pair of sunglasses I found in a vintage shop. They had thick black frame around purple lenses and I thought they were the coolest thing in the world. I ordered metallic purple nail polish and lipstick from New York and wore the combination everyday.

I used to ask my mom to drop me off at the Main Library downtown and then walk the few block to the area that held all the vintage stores and coffee shops. I would wear silky Asian jackets over lacy black vintage dresses and little maryjanes. I thought I was the most fashionable (and eccentric) kid around.

Hunting for weird rings and dangly silver bracelets..

Reading books in Cafe Quebec..

Sitting on the floor pillows by the fountain and writing poetry at the Casbah Tea House..

Playing uno with a little goth boy and a little skinhead boy while smoking vanilla cigarettes..

Painting the pretty little goth boy�s nails purple to match mine..

*sigh* Everything was so simple back then.

3:31 p.m.

previous | next