February 12, 2003

Rainy weather makes me swoon..

It�s raining in Tucson. Not heavy sheets, but rather a nice even drizzle.. and the sky is full of fluffy white and gray clouds that obscure the sun and protect us from its cruel hot rays.. and there is fog in the mountains and the smell of beautiful, wet wildness in the air.

It couldn�t be more perfect.

At break time I went outside and stood in the parking lot with my arms stretched to the heavens and smiled as hundreds of droplets covered my little black sweater that came with built in thumb holes and safety pin crosses, as the rain puddles around my boots soaked the bottom of my military green pants and made my hair spike out more than usual.

At lunch time I sat outside in the smoking area and read Echo by Francesca Lia Block and painted my nails a soft iridescent sea foam green.

And when a sun bronzed girl I don�t particularly like complained about the weather I told her that I thought it was wonderful. And when she said, �Yeah, but you�re just weird like that.� I told her that years from now when she�s a leathery skin cancer desert queen, I�ll be soft and pale, the queen of dew and frost. And she frowned and turned away and I giggled wickedly.

And then the book worm boy who always sits on the couch in the quiet room reading science fiction books laughed and told me I look more like a seaweed kelp goddess than a frost queen. And a flamey gay boy laughed and told me that he thinks I�m the most fabulous girl in the world. He said if I had a dick he�d have wet dreams about me and invited me out to eat when we got sent home early.

I love days like this. They make me feel untouchable, wild and fey. They make me smile and dance. They allow me to laugh when stupid boys hit on me and creepy boys ask for my number. They make me feel special and remind me of Troy who once told me that there must be some sort of magickal spell I cast on people because it�s unnatural to get as much attention as I do. To have so many boys like you.

They make me think of the forty dollar pair of moonstone and garnet earrings my mom�s wearing today.. because a Middle Eastern man gave them to me for free this weekend. He owns five jewelry stores in California and was selling beautiful, exotic things at the Gem and Mineral show.. and when he asked what I liked I told him I was broke.. and he looked at my moonstone ring and bracelet and said a beautiful girl deserves beautiful things and just gave them to me..

Between earrings and Laurel and rain this is shaping up to be a good week after all..

1:35 a.m.

previous | next