December 08, 2002

floating up and up and up

I wrote this almost seven months ago. On a napkin that I shoved in a purse I haven't used in a while. I forgot all about it until now.. It�s amazing how fast time passes when you�re not paying attention to the calendar on the wall.

I bet you don�t recognize the flowers dying on my dresser.

I bet you wouldn�t recognize a single face on a single picture decorating my bedroom mirror.

I bet you�d fumble around in the dark forever in search of your car keys..

And trip over something on your way to find a lamp.

I bet I wouldn�t cling to you in my sleep..

Secure in the subconscious knowledge of your closeness.

I bet you wouldn�t reach for me if I moved away..

Or toss uncomfortably if I got up in the middle of the night.

I bet you wouldn�t get that knowing smile first thing in the morning.

I bet you wouldn�t hold me tight and tell me how you care.

I bet you wouldn�t keep me there for hours..

Just talking and smiling with certainty that we�d last.

I bet it would be nice though,

In a hollow sort of way.

And maybe we�d feel satisfied for a few moments..

Before we realized it was gone.

And maybe we�d talk about getting back together,

Before our emotions let us know that we�ve moved on.

I�ve moved on.

But I promise I�ll remember..

And you know, I really think I will.

9:35 p.m.

previous | next